Skip to content

Sticking around the Christmas tree – 2012

December 15, 2012

Christmas tradition time!   Here we go,  the third annual wonky Christmas tree extravaganza at the Santos-Fraser household.

I’ll remind you of previous entries.

2010

laddertree

Low tech, efficient, portable.

2011

hangertree

Perfect for encouraging a closet clean-out.

But this year the kids are older and we have new needs to fill. Banging for example. We are always in need of appropriate opportunities to bang that begeezes out of something. Sticks are also popular. And we  mustn’t forget the perennial toddler favorite, picking garbage treasures off the beach.  So we went beach combing for Christmas tree ingredients.

P1650915
Cheaper than Walmart!

P1650924

There was heated debate over how many sticks we could haul home on our bikes  the attributes of various components.

P1650964

But I did all this just for the boys.  I didn’t have any fun at all.

2012

P1660111
Tada!  This is what we came up with.

Pros:  no needles to vacuum.

Cons:  no evergreen fresh smell.  Whatever.  I’ll buy an air freshener.

I put it outside for a week to annoy the neighbours, so the whole complex could enjoy our work.

P1660134

Then we moved it to the patio to decorate it.

How long until one of those monkeys climbs it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2012 4:31 pm

    Love it Rea! Now that you have constructed your version I can proceed to snap together the 3 piece pre-lit fabrication that dons our livingroom each year. I am pretty sure your adventure to the beach was far more fun that the adventure I will have digging mine out of the garage! Merry Christmas to you, Rogelio, and your gorgeous boys!

  2. December 15, 2012 6:12 pm

    hahaaaa I really love the description of the process.. and the best are your faces!!

  3. December 15, 2012 8:48 pm

    Your best so far ~ very festive and creative ~ it’s a keeper! Merry Christmas and Feliz Navidad!

  4. December 29, 2012 8:46 am

    LOVE THIS…as well as how your posts continue to make me laugh hilariously. If I didn’t love Christmas as much as I do, I’d consider following suit…maybe, though, maybe just one day I will…Thanks!!
    Tamara

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

