Traditional Spanish Food: Pancakes


OK, so pancakes are only traditional in this Spanish house.  Every weekend, without fail, we find a great excuse to eat maple syrup.

I can buy one litre bottles of awesome Canadian maple syrup at the health food store.  They import it, via France, for people doing fasts.  Remember that water with lemon juice, cayenne and maple syrup fast?  Spanish hippies are onto it.

When I went back to buy yet another litre the woman said “Wow, are you ever healthy.  You must fast all the time.” I muttered, “No, our maple syrup consumption is about gorging, not fasting”, and left quickly.

Rogelio would tell you, I make good pancakes. You want to know the secret ingredient?  Lemon rind or orange rind.  Seriously, try it.  You won’t be disappointed.  We got the idea from Galician “Filloas” which are a crepe traditionally made during Carnival.  They have a touch of lemon rind that just sets them off.

Here is my fearless and serious assistant demonstrating the proper technique to peel even a green,  pre-season local lemon.

The recipe will give you a nice yield of 10 almost dinner sized plate pancakes.  These puppies are whole wheat and dense.  Enough for a family of four, or one pregnant/breastfeeding woman, her Spanish husband and an 18 month old who can’t keep his fingers out of any plate of food or photo.

They taste even better eaten outside in the morning sun.

The Spanish guy is hardest on my maple syrup supply.    There is that little hand again.

So, here is the recipe.

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour, (although today I used 1 cup white, 1 cup rye)
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 TBSP oil (I use olive)
  • 1.5 cups of milk or your choice, or water
  • rind of a lemon or small orange

Whip it.  Whip it good.  Seriously, get some bubbles happening.  Then let the batter sit for a couple of minutes until it gets good and frothy.  Cook them over medium heat.  Then drown them in butter and syrup and pretend you are sitting in the Spanish morning sun over looking the polluted lovely Mediterranean.

2 comments

  1. Yum! Sounds very much like the urhm recipe I follow that is written down in my head. But I usually go all out and use white flour (that way I can eat more and more and not get as bogged down.lol)
    And I haven’t tried the touch of lemon rind…but I will, sounds like a nice touch and with the blueberries I love to add…mmmmmmm yummers!

    1. Funny about writing it down, I never measure or use a recipe when I make these. I had to measure as I adjusted the water so that I could post it here! Luckily they turned into nice round measures. Oh, if only I could get blueberries here…

Leave a Reply

