Do Not Fear the Fat


I think about food.  ALOT. Being pregnant gives me a fabulous excuse.  I am eating for two, right?  Although I sometimes forget the one of us only weighs half a pound at the moment.

Yago and I are big smoothie fans so I thought I would share our favorite with you.

It is not for the calorie conscious.  But yesterday I gave you a recipe for fat and weed stew so I figure a little avocado won’t scare you away.

  • Bust out your blender.
  • Toss in a bunch of almonds, a frozen banana, half an avocado, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a drizzle of honey and a cup of your favorite type of milk.
  • Blend.
  • Slurp and gulp with a straw.
  • Watch your gut grow.
  • Optional:  wipe off your mustache.

What’s your favorite?

2 comments

  1. YUM!!!
    Love the smoothie….our favorite is banana, frozen berries (mostly blackberries if the previous season was good) but straw, rasp, and blue rock as well. some sort of berry like yogurt, and a few splashes of oj. MMMMMMM! but I’ve played with ground nuts, wheat germ, flax, milk, soy, nut milks, peanut butter, cocoa powder, honey, agave, kiwis, pineapples, you name it. Actually Darius even made one the other day with frozen apples and apple juice amongst…twas awesome.
    We’ve been smoothie heads for years now, Darius considered them milk shakes before he actually had a really milkshake. And they still make a super easy breakfast on the run.

  2. Well, I don’t have a smoothie recipe, but I have an interesting version of cookie that seems to be combo smoothie and cookie. My date-loving husband is a date square fan, but I’ve come up with a healthier version, courtesy of Harrowsmith Cookbooks…
    3 ripe bananas, 1 cup chopped dates, 1/3 cup oil, 2 cups oatmeal, 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, 1 tsp vanilla. mash bans, add dates and oil, then add remaining ingredients. bake at 375 for 15 minutes. (kind of like those chocolate oatmeal thingies -remember?) -it may be interesting to add some protein powder to really have yago fly into action on days when you need to move fast…rogelio’s version may need to contain something more grown up – your choice in that one!

Leave a Reply

