Bring on the veggies


Have you ever seen one of these?

I hadn’t until I moved to Algeciras.  It is called Romanesco in Spanish, which is infinitely better than the three name variations I have found in English.  We can’t decide whether to call it Broccoflower, Romaneso Broccoli, or Roman Cauliflower.  So basically, we don’t know what the heck it is.

But it’s gorgeous, isn’t it.  Almost too pretty to eat.  At least that was the line that Yago was going to try to feed me.

“This pretty little thing, Mommy?  You don’t really think we should eat it, do you?”

“NOOOOOOOO!  She IS going to make me eat the…. , the whatever you call this thing.  “

” I will pull out every last fractoral shaped floret.  Kill the broccoli, or cauliflower, or whatever the heck this crazy vegetable is.”

Full disclosure:  It tastes more like cauliflower than broccoli, but needs a light hand with the steamer or it gets a bit mushy.  And the kid ate it with no complaints.

What do you think of the buzz cut?

6 comments

  1. I used to grow this, particularly for its sculptural qualities. Good in salad. I like the buzz cut—let’s go surfing, climb the mountain, snowboard down yelling triumph!

  2. I’ve tried growing it before Rea, if well little success BUT in the West Coast Seeds Catalogue they all it Romanesco Broccoli variety: Natalino. Beautiful veggie, wish it was consistently warm enough here to grow it.

  3. Thanks for the picture! I have some growing as my “fall broccoli” in my garden, here on Salt Spring Island, BC, and it’s just about ready to pick now, at the beginning of November. I got the seeds from West Coast Seeds and took a chance on it. It’s quite gorgeous and hopefully will become my standard fall broccoli here on the coast. I just wasn’t sure what it looked like when it was ready to pick, so the pictures really help. It seemed to take longer to mature than other fall varieties, but it’s nice to have fresh broccoli from the garden at this time of year.

Leave a Reply

