Yes, Algeciras is in Andalucía


I spend a lot of time slagging Algeciras.  Frankly, the place deserves it.  But there is no denying that the surrounding region, known as Andalucía, is worth a visit.  It has beaches, mountains and beautiful landscapes.  The culture is rich and varied.  The climate?  Spectacular.  At least by Canadian standards.

Over seven million foreign tourists per year come here for a reason. Andalucía I mean.  The only reason they come to Algeciras is to catch a boat to Morocco.

So, to show that both Andalucía and I have a positive side, here is the latest tourism video from the regional government.

So, did you fall for the hard sell?  Are you coming to visit me?  We could go for tapas.  You could get your very own life-sized ceramic Jesus as a souvenir.  I’ll even introduce you to some of Algeciras’ finest citizens,  sleeping in the plaza.

10 comments

  1. Andalusia is amazingly beautiful. I visited Seville, Granada, Ronda, Cordoba. Loved every bit of it.

    How on earth did you end up in Algeciras? (Which you don’t seem to love…)?

    1. Oh, the things we do for love. My husband is from here. I actually enjoy my love/hate relationship with Algeciras. It gives me something silly to complain about. And blog about. If I lived in a beautiful city I’d have to write a happy shiny blog and that just wouldn’t be me!

  2. Looks good to me…if I had some excess stash I would certainly come visit you, Rea!!! As long as we don’t have to golf….not my sport.

  3. I loved living in Málaga, in spite of the exasperating disorganization and dog poops all over the sidewalks. There’s something about that weather…but I don’t know if I’d permanently exchange the crappy weather we get here for the South. I like having an efficient health care system, great sports facilities, and well-equipped schools for my kids. Maybe when my husband retires…he’s always talking about how he’d like to live near the beach.

    1. And those are all the reasons I would leave Algeciras. That beautiful park bench? That could be the sum total of our social services and infrastructure.

  4. I’m currently in Granada and I absolutely love it! Everything is so charming and easy to get to. I still haven’t been to the coast, but hopefully when the weather is super warm I’ll go!

  5. As an andalusian born, I must admit that the touristic view of our region is absolutely opposite to the day-by-day life in every city of it, even from a cultural point of view: the visitors get a somehow romantic perspective of the traditions, the moorish legacy and the southern Spanish lifestyle that is certainly far away from reality. I spent my childhood in a concrete suburb of Granada (the kind of streets that mustn’t be very different from Algeciras streets), and I could rarely admire our monuments and our customs in the same way that tourists did, but that was simply because my ordinary thoughts were not about cathedrals, muslim palaces, sand beaches or so, but just about lack of employment or low salaries, relatively unsafe streets, crowded urban buses, etc
    So I see that, while others expats are enjoying the andalusian way of life (or at least what they think it is), you are living the same way the most of our inhabitants do everyday. That’s the main reason why I read your blog, because it allows me to see how a foreigner see our ordinary life, and I really appreciate the honesty of your comments.
    However, it seems to me that you are sometimes very cruel with some images or some activities, and such cruelty seems to come either from lack of comprehension of our habits, or from a single point that you could perfectly not bear in mind: most of andalusian people -apart from old migrants- haven’t lived abroad or just haven’t visited other countries, so they just can’t compare and see from the distance what they really have in hands. You can’t refuse what you have if you don’t see other things, can you?
    I’ve living abroad for a long time, and I understand that some things can be shocking for somebody who comes from other country (they’re even shocking and even disgusting for me, and I’m supposed to belong to this culture); nevertheless, I think that a more comprehensive look is needed when you deal with such a complex culture as suburb (not monumental) Andalucia.
    So please be patient and give a chance to local people. I don’t mean you to become one more local, one of those women smoking at the entrance of the school (no please! I find marvelous that you keep being “not so spanish” after so many years living in this region!), but just try to understand (no need to share) why we are the way we are.
    Anyway, I am eager to keep on reading your exhilarating comments and to see your beatiful family growing.
    Many thanks for sharing you experiences and impressions between us, in this not so monumental Andalucia.
    Keep well,
    Jesús

Leave a Reply

