Dashing through the sand.


Boxing Day.  What is a good northern Canadian girl to do?  Take the family tobogganing of course!  No lack of snow can deter my cultural committment. Don’t fear, my little Canucks, we will have fun, like it or not.

Ñ

“Ok troops, this is what real Canadians do on Boxing Day.  And we don’t even have to take off six layers of clothes before we pee.  So no complaining now and everyone UP THE HILL!”

Ñ

“I saw her putting rum in that thermos.”

Ñ

“Looks like the Mommy is serious about this tobogganing crap.  She isn’t even waiting for us!”

Ñ

“Ok, now you just sit on the buggy board and slide down the hill.  And you laugh and scream and pretend you’re having fun.  Wipe that Spanish smirk off your face and start having fun, damn it.  I’m serious!”

Ñ

The friction coefficient is all wrong, Papi.”

“You’re right son.  To make this fun we either need more slope, less clothing, or more rum.  I’ll check-in with your mother.”
Ñ

“Hello down there.  Are we having fun yet?”
Ñ

“Papi, I have sand in my underwear”

“I suppose it’s better than snow.  Let’s just humor her a bit longer and  I’ll buy you a toy bullfighter on the way home.”

Ñ

“Who filled my thermos with sand?  Come back here, you little twerps!”

7 comments

  1. Wonderful! I love the commitment to winter sports!

    This seems less of a culture clash, and more like foreshadowing of the effects of global warming. Perhaps you should patent the idea now so that in 20 years (when everyone world-wide is doing this in the winter), you’ll be rich!

  2. (Nice, Brian. I like it! )
    I also continue to love your blog, this post being no exception. You keep us laughing out here, as you detail your little experiences here and there. I think it was first in July when I first hosted the Blogging Carnival, that I found your site. But whenever it was, I’ve enjoyed it ever since, and thus decided to nominate you for the Liebster Blog Award. Not sure you’ve heard of it, but I’ve laid it all in white and brown on my blog:
    http://nonnativebilingualism.blogspot.com/2013/01/and-liebster-blog-award-goes-to.html

    Would be great fun if you chose to participate with us…But either way, know you have a fan in the great Northwest!

    All the best,
    Tamara

Leave a comment